IPL 2014 – Pepsi IPL T20 Schedule

Indian Premier League would be reaching to its 7th anniversary with the 2014 edition. The IPL 7 would be jointly hosted by UAE and India. The tournament starts mid April and would continue till the first week of June. The Indian Premier League 2014 would be contested by 8 teams.

Mumbai Indians is the defending champ this time with Rohit Sharma as the captain. The team is backed by eminent names like Lasith Malinga, Mike Hussey, Zaheer Khan, Pragyan Ojha, Harbhajan Singh, Kieron Pollard etc. Gautam Gambhir is the leader of Kolkata Knight Riders. The notable names from team are Jacques Kallis, Sunil Narine, Shakib Al Hasan, Mornie Morkel, Yusuf Pathan etc. The important names from Chennai Super Kings include Dhoni (captain), Suresh Raina, Brendon McCullum, Dwayne Bravo, Dwayne Smith etc. Royal Challengers Bangalore includes Virat Kohli (captain), Chris Gayle, Yuvraj Singh, Muttiah Muralitharan etc. The most important cricketers from Delhi Daredevils are Kevin Pietersen (captain), Mohammed Shami, Dinesh Karthik, Ross Taylor, Manoj Tiwary etc. Kings XI Punjab has got big names including George Bailey, Virender Sehwag, Cheteshwar Pujara, Thisara Perera, Lakhmipathy Balaji. Rajasthan Royals hold players like Shane Watson (captain), Brad Hodge, Ajinkya Rahane, James Faulkner. Sunrisers Hyderabad involves some of the best cricketers including Shikhar Dhawan (captain), David Warner, Aaron Finch, Darren Sammy, Irfan Pathan etc.

The IPL 7 auction took place in mid-February this year. 154 players were sold altogether- among these 80 were capped players while 74 were uncapped players. Yuvraj Singh was the costliest player and Kevin Pietersen was the most expensive among the foreign players. Karan Sharma earned the highest bid among the uncapped players.

The first 20 matches of IPL 2014 would be held in UAE, played across Abu Dhabi (Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium), Dubai (Dubai International Cricket Stadium) and Sharjah (Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium). The matches in India would be played across 10 Indian cities including Kolkata, Mumbai, Chennai, Bangalore, Ranchi, Cuttack, Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Delhi and Mohali.

The IPL 7 schedule starts on April 16 at Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium and ends with the final match on June 1 at Wankhede Stadium. The first match is between Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight. The last UAE match is on April 30 and the game would be played between Mumbai Indians and Sunrisers Hyderabad. The Indian leg commences with Chennai Super Kings V Kolkata Knight Riders match on May 2 at JSCA International Cricket Stadium, Ranchi. The last group match is between Mumbai Indians and Rajasthan Royals on May 25 and would be played at Wankhede Stadium.

The IPL 7 tickets are on sale online mow since April 3. The minimum price for Abu Dhabi stadium is around AED20 (single match) AED30 (for Dubai single match) and UED30 (  for Sharjah single match)

Mumbai Indians would be definitely trying to defend their winning status and the other teams have restructured themselves with the mission to score something really solid this IPL season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>